Skip to main content

Connecting The Dots... Kingdom Hearts | Timeline

#KingdomHearts #ReconnectKingdomHearts #Disney #SquareEnix
Kingdom Hearts is an action-rpg video game series developed by Square Enix under the supervision of Disney. You take control of a young boy name Sora, as he and his friends Riku and Kairi dream to venture to different worlds. The series features Disney, Square Enix, as well as original characters, throughout. Most of the worlds in the series are based on Walt Disney Feature Films.

Looking at the synopsis of the game you would think the story would be straightforward… Well, If that is what you think you would be wrong.
“ Sora's world is shattered when a violent storm hits his home, and is separated from his two closest friends. The storm scatters the three to unknown worlds. At the same time, there is turmoil in the Disney Castle. King Mickey is missing, and Court Wizard Donald and Captain Goofy are out to find him. On their travels they meet Sora, on his own search for his lost friends. The three are told of ominous creatures called Heartless, being without hearts derived from an unknown dimension and are the ones responsible for the devastating storm. The Disney villains, enticed by the power of darkness, manipulate the Darkness to help them gather the princesses of heart, who are needed to open a mysterious final door. Upon discovering the link between the Heartless, the storm, and the disappearance of King Mickey, Sora, Donald, and Goofy join forces and help familiar Disney heroes to save their worlds from the Heartless.” - via IMDb
Truth is Kingdom Hearts may have the most convoluted story line I have come across in a video game, As the series progresses it gets even more confusing.

Part of the reason people find the Kingdom Hearts series so confusing is because they don’t understand the proper timeline of the game or the proper order in which they should play the games to get a better understanding of what is going on. Hopefully this article will clarify this issue for newcomers to the series.

The Timeline:
Kingdom Hearts X - Kingdom hearts X is currently the furthest back the story goes. It is story of the fore tellers and the Master of Masters.
Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep - Birth By Sleep is the next game in the timeline. We don’t believe Square Enix has specified how long after Kingdom Hearts X, Birth By Sleep takes place but it clearly a few decades later.
Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep: A Fragmented Passage - KHBBAFP isn’t exactly a full game but it takes place directly after the events of Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep. It basically shows what Aqua has been doing during the events of Kingdom Hearts.
Kingdom Hearts - Kingdom Hearts is actually the first game to be released in the series even though it's technically the 4 game in the Series. The Events of Kingdom Hearts Takes place 10 Years after Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep.
Kingdom Hearts: Chain Of Memories - This game takes place where Kingdom Hearts leaves off. During this game Sora and friends explore Castle Oblivion and the mysterious Organization XIII.
Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days  This is the story of the Mysterious Organization Member Roxas. The game takes place after the events of Kingdom Hearts, and run parallel with Kingdom Hearts Chain of Memories.
Kingdom Hearts II - This game picks up directly after the events of the Kingdom Hearts COM and 358/2Days. Technically the 4 Kingdom Hearts game to release it sits at #7 in the Canon Timeline.
Kingdom Hearts: Coded - Kingdom Hearts coded takes place after the events of Kingdom Hearts 2.
Kingdom Hearts: 3D - Kingdom Hearts 3D takes place directly after the events of Kingdom Hearts coded.

Another Thought
If you truly want to experience the convoluted story of Kingdom Hearts we suggest you play the games in which the order they were released (Kingdom Hearts, Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, Kingdom Hearts II, Kingdom Hearts: Coded, Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep, Kingdom Hearts 3D, Kingdom Hearts X.). Then if you want deeper understanding of the series play / watch the series in its correct chronological order as listed above.

Stay Tuned for Part II which will Feature Characters